Call for Nominations: The European Archaeological Heritage Prize 2007

Willem Willems has asked us to issue this call for nominations for The European Archaeological Heritage Prize 2007:

The European Association of Archaeologists instituted the European Archaeological Heritage Prize in 1999. An independent committee awards the prize annually to an individual, institution or (local or regional) government for an outstanding contribution to the protection and presentation of the European archaeological heritage. In principle, this can be any contribution that is outstanding and of European scope or importance – it does not have to be a scientific contribution. The prize for 2007 will be awarded during the Annual Meeting of the EAA in Zadar, Croatia, in September.

The EAA Committee for the European Archaeological Heritage Prize consists of: Anastasia Tourta (Greece), Jürgen Kunow (Germany), Romuald Schild (Poland) and Willem Willems
(Netherlands; chairperson). The Committee will discuss all serious proposals for the award.

Nominations may be made by any of the following:
• Members of the Association (all grades of membership)
• Professors and heads of departments of archaeology in European universities and institutes
• Directors of governmental heritage management organisations and agencies in European countries (members of the Council of Europe)
• Non-governmental archaeological, heritage, and professional organisations in European countries

The closing date for receipt of proposals is 1 May, 2007.
Nominations, with full citations, should be sent to the EAA Secretariat, c/o Institute of Archaeology CAS, Letenská 4, 118 01 Praha 1, Czech Republic, or by email to

This entry was posted in EAA Annual Meeting 2007, EAA Matters. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.